Lets get something out of the way. A lot of people want to give you a list of rules. Things that you either should or shouldn’t do in order to stay alive. I’m sure it was a very clever thing – the first couple times you saw it, but now it’s like everything else, a cliché. There are no die hard rules, that I know of. My only solid, unchanging advice would be – don’t be stupid. Sounds easy enough right? But it’s obvious from the way that things went down that it’s easier said than done. That first day was a killer, and I’m not just trying to be funny. It’s one thing to see a zombie, but to identify one, to realize and believe what you’re seeing, is a whole different story. Even for one who had given the whole idea extensive thought, belief and acceptance came hard. It’s just so far-fetched. I guess I had almost convinced myself that it couldn’t happen, it was just a morbid fairytale for the disenfranchised. When it walked into my driveway it blew me right away.

I was about 3 feet away from the man when he lunged for me. I yelped and jumped back. He lost his balance and sort of ended up on his hands and knees on the blacktop. Jarred as I was, I still thought that maybe he was just in shock and had been trying to use me for support, and so I felt bad and approached him yet again.

“I’m sorry sir. Are you ok? I’m sorry, you scared me,” I apologized as I reached down to take his arm to help him up. He snapped his head towards my hand and tried to take a bite. I yelped and jumped back again. That’s when I noticed his eyes. Yellowish in hue, they showed no emotion, didn’t react with the rest of the body; they looked dead. And coupled with his propensity for trying to bite me, I was convinced that maybe this man was beyond my help. I walked back to the door to the garage, without taking my eyes off him. He followed me. By the time I had closed and locked the door and was looking out of one of the two big garage door windows, he was right on the other side looking back. He knocked his whole body against the door several times ineffectually, and then seemed to remember his hands, pounding weakly against it.

“I’m going to call for an ambulance!” I yelled as I walked away towards the mud room and the stairs to the upper level.

I sprinted up the stairs and grabbed the phone off the kitchen table. My sister looked at me with an eyebrow up.

“Some guy who’s missing an eye just walked up the driveway and tried to bite me.”

“What?!” she said, appropriately.

“I don’t know, it’s totally crazy. We have to call someone-” and at that there was the sound of breaking glass from downstairs.

“What the fuck?!” she said, again totally appropriately.

